top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoumya Singh Parihar

Love conquers all

Okay the title might (most definitely) be an oxymoron. Spoiler alert...Love is not gonna save the world. Little harsh I know but something I more than whole heartedly believe in. And you know what? The word 'love', much like so many other words, holds significantly less meaning than they did a while back. 'The while' is subjective to individuals. And love is on top of the list of these words. 'Wow! Love this', 'Love that', 'Love you forever' Yeah right!

And what is love anyway? And I'm not looking at this or asking in a philosophical sense, no, just the definition of what is supposedly the most powerful word in the world is so vague and honestly vain. It's so vague, it might as well be uncertain. So how can such an unclear word be potent enough to rescue the oh! so mighty humankind? I mean with all these muddy waters...Is it even real? If yes, then how would you define it? I'm sure every person has their own versions and interpretations. So very subjective, and this sure is a ramble honestly but ask yourself what defines love for you? what about people around you? and then do you stick to it? or does it change after you cheat on your partner with another person? Does it then sound something like say, it was a meaningless mistake, that affair and I love my partner so much but I was lonely since she was going through something and I didn't wanna burden her. Also I love my spouse so much I didn't tell her because it would hurt her.


How about non-romantic love? Do you love your kids? Or does it change after you realize they are not your carbon copy? That they have their own goals, ambitions, choices, preferences and life? Or do you bound, imprison and abuse them in the name of that love? You love your kid with your whole heart but then realize he is, say, gay...What are you gonna say? Kid, I absolutely love you except I hate the most fundamental part of your existence and I refuse to accept you instead I shun you for your own good, do you wanna come to a priest so he could exorcist this ghost out of you (which most definitely is not the demons I gave you by the way) or would you follow me to this insane asylum real quick to cure your mental illness, I'm sure you'll be cured of being who you are and I can go live with my homophobia in peace. Or Kid, I love you but I would not let you pursue something you love, something that makes you happy and clearly have talent for because I'm not comfortable with it nor am I open-minded. Is that love? Or a corporate contract? With provisions, exceptions and reservations?


Or Is it that you just love animals and nature? or is it the same after you go hunting for sport, to show you are tough? or when you eat any animal you can just because you can? Or you cut trees for your own gain? and wouldn't care to stop anyone else who would either? Or when you burn crackers and pollute the fuck out of environment for no reason?


I'm sorry but all this for one is so freaking hypocritical and two shows that love comes with terms and conditions that change faster than Taylor's genres through years and albums. Is it really love then? Which brings me back to that same question...What is love? Conflicting? Then how is it gonna save us from destroying ourselves? Those were the smallest, very common and yet the most fundamental examples of how treacherous love can be. I can count countless such cases, and so can you. So how do you trust and how can you say that love is the most powerful thing in the world, unless these are one of those words that are so overused that they have lost their meaning or dare I say, power? Irony, am I right?



Now I've got a better plan...maybe it won't work as well but what is the harm in trying? How about we replace the word Love with some more specific words? Like Kindness, Compassion, Empathy, Respect, Understanding, mercy and gentleness. How does that sound? Convening enough? Yes, some might argue that love includes all these qualities as well for most people but I would have to disagree because actions speaks much much louder than words and their actions clearly state otherwise. So can we stop pretending and drop the guise that we carry as we hide our most ugly with the façade, the word 'love' has been providing for the longest time. Can we just for god's sake for once just stop loving and rather start caring instead, start respecting and understanding and empathizing and sharing instead? Because we know the end is not too far...and love ain't doing shit nor has it done anything to stop or delay it. So why not just try something selfless instead.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page