top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoumya Singh Parihar

Bad Feminist

Updated: Jun 9, 2022

Warning: This poem has a few words that are best read by adults. So it is advised to proceed likewise. Nothing too crazy though, just a must read.


You told me, my clothes are too 'provoking',

I'm drinking too much,

'Oh! now you're smoking',

Sorry, I apologize, I didn't realize,

I'm breathing through your Lungs,

LSD on your tongue,

Oh! but when he does it, it's all rocking?

Me even questioning is sin, of course my mistake!

Must be all the vodka I'm soaking.


Must be my airhead-ness, that I talk in cuss,

Bold opinions spilling, every other line has 'fuck', You say I should cover up, It's not your place buttercup,

Silence would be rewarded, obedience always applauded,

You think I'm listening to this muck,

All those 'shut your mouth before you run out of luck'.


You didn't reckon, 'luck' was never my friend,

Not when he forced on me, not when beaten to end,

Did I stay down where he left me?

Boy, he can bend all he wants, not gonna break me,

Countless tried, countless will,

Those cowards failed, more cowards will,

I never learned to bark at command, why would it make me bow?

I still live on with my dignity, too tough not to ride out that low.


My mom didn't raise me to cower,

Dad brought up a thorn no fragile flower,

You say I sleep around, feet always off the ground,

Oh! judge me not sunshine,

No house of glass is a holy freaking shrine,

I don't need a ring to show my power,

Against he, who lives entitled in his freaking Ivory tower,

You can go home before dark babe,

I'm gonna stay another hour.


He seethes when I run the show in boardroom,

Why honey? You thought it was kinky in bedroom,

Is this about the boundaries talk we had?

I must've muted you out, or maybe my hearing is just bad,

Oh! don't fret tiger, no image loss,

I can run myself to early grave with my persistence to win,

But we know who'll be the boss,

Daddy bought me my promotions and successes is what you presume,

Not that I worked for it for years, months, all day, night and noon.


Is this how they think Queen conquered her kingdom?

Kneeling before the enemy until her knees got numb,

You have some audacity to question her,

Tearing her down, the bullshit judgements if she's pure,

The queen never bowed her head, much less kneel,

You questioning her reign is not her problem,

That's just your goddamn deal,

Her scars are her armor, let any foe may come,

Long live her highness the queen's greatness, you'll hum.


You say I'm too fat, too thin, too dark, too pale, too tan,

My butt too flat, chest small, no one's fan,

I'm basic, I'm tomboy, yeah sure I am,

Or maybe you're just too stuck up to grasp, that's my jam,

And then you ask me to apologize,

When you call me, giraffe, dwarf, for my size,

Guess I'm too focused on what's really important to give a damn,

So that one day I can proudly say, 'Mom, I am the rich man'.


You covered, mine and hers, burns, cuts, bumps and broken wrists,

You said 'darling it's normal, it's just a fist',

But you knew it wasn't right at all and it won't stop there,

That it wasn't a mistake but crime,

You faced the same, a warning would've been fair,

Maybe something really is wrong with my brain,

That I see right through this mist,

A whole lot of fed up, because this is just a gist, I'm definitely imperfect as you remind me time and again,

But I'm over this shit,

Even if it makes me a bloody loser,

Fucking bad feminist.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page