top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoumya Singh Parihar

Pushing 20

Updated: May 7, 2022

A wise woman once said, "When you are young, they assume you know nothing." ( people who recognized who that is, high five, ones who didn't, it's Taylor Swift, a genius singer, song writer. I highly recommend her, for more of these please hit me up. Okay, if I continue this, I might never stop and you can expect more of these in the future because that's just me.)

Anyways, 'Pushing 20' sounds fancy but it's really not. I'm nineteen, about to reach twenty in few months, most people would be all,' What would a twenty something, low-life, wannabe have for me? ' You are right, 'cause that's your opinion and I respect that. Nevertheless, I believe that sure, I'm young but the only thing I lack is experience and that doesn't makes me any less knowledgeable. If it's practicality you fear, then dude it's not 1980s or 1990s or 2000s, it's 2022, the world is at the palm of my hand. Few days back, I leaned how to drive manual via YouTube, took some time and practice but here I am, an already broken shoulder, dislocated again but I know how to drive now, so that's a plus, even though I can't drive for another month and neither do I have a car to drive...for foreseeable future.


Well, my point is that, you underestimate us. Don't patronize us, don't dictate or control us, and for the love of god, stop commanding us. We're not animals, we're your future. Just guide us and in turn, let us take the lead. Because your future is our reality and we would need nothing less then

everything to survive. This place that you, so arrogantly claim to know, has completely changed right before your eyes without you even realizing what happened. There's this line from some article I read, 'We have not inherited this earth from our forefathers; we have borrowed it from our children.' By Mr. Lester Brown, which rings so true.

So yes, I am a college kid and I am pushing 20, let me make mistakes, they're my mistakes to make, you can't snatch them from me just like you can't touch my dreams.( Except of course when that causes harm to other people but only then.) Otherwise just to avoid a broken collar bone, I could've died. How did that accelerate so fast you ask? well, since I can't drive, I take an Uber and the car gets into an accident because an idiot slammed into us, said he learned to drive online. Yes, I have a very wild and vivid imagination, so sue me, I've literally got nothing to lose, I'm just a kid, with a broken shoulder. A disturbingly strange metaphor for "I'd rather be a diamond with flaws, then a pebble without any." but okay, and yes also expect these random quotes by some brilliant people, who had something to say and they went ahead and said it, just like me.


Alright then, if you wanna hear and talk, you're most welcome, to my mind labyrinth, it's a dark place, you've been warned. And if you don't wanna, no fret, just chill dude, "It's only a lifetime, it's only a while, it's not worth the anger you felt as a child." seriously though, " What's your childhood trauma?"

That was Finneas O'Connell, my absolute favorite genius ever, and the later was just Cordelia from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, (see I'm a kind person who shares all the references, you're so welcome) and this is me Soumya (no last name required) here with my sometimes funny (it's basically just dark and self-deprecating humor), intentionally serious, completely original (I mean...), and incredibly real two-cents.


102 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page